Bernie Williams “Take Me Out To the Ball Game”

As we’ve mentioned here previously, music and sports are often seen as opposing forces in the world of education, as budget cuts force administrators to choose where dollars should be allocated. Here’s someone who has seen the benefits of both activities, musician and former New York Yankees Centerfielder Bernie Williams.

According to an article at NY Daily News, at a recent function of the non-profit Little Kids Rock, one little girl asked the ex-centerfielder what he liked better, baseball or music.

“Tough question,” responded Williams. “Baseball was my job and a lot of fun, but music was always in my life. And you know what? The older I got, the more I realized I wanted to be a musician when I grew up. .. . I think I have to give the edge to music a little.”

Here’s Bernie’s poignant rendition of “Take Me Out to the Ball Game.”

One thought on “Bernie Williams “Take Me Out To the Ball Game””

Leave a Reply

