Easy Access to Musical Instruments

Guitar HB web1aI have an Kay archtop acoustic guitar that I keep handy, and I play it often. My Guild semi-hollow body has remained in the case a lot lately, but after listening to a new CD of duets by jazz guitarists John Pizzarelli and New Orleanian Davy Mooney entitled Last Train Home, I got the desire to break out the electric again. From this point forward I’m going to leave it on the stand with the guitar cord plugged into the amp. I thoroughly enjoyed playing last night for a few hours. I find if you make access easier you’ll play more often.

That’s a good lesson for introducing kids to music. If you just make instruments available, curiosity and the explorative nature of children will take over.

Leave a Reply

